Peanut – Adoption Pending!
Posted on: August 3, 2018

Peanut has come so far with the love & care of her foster home! Check out her bio for updates!

I may look like any other dog, but I’ve got some special needs that don’t allow me to enjoy every day doggy life; Please read my full bio before considering to adopt me. As my fosters say, “I’m the highest maintenance, low maintenance dog you’ll ever meet”, I’m special to say the least!!

Despite not having the most loving upbringing, Peanut has a gentle and sweet soul. Her fosters are working to build her trust and help her come out of her shell. Sadly, humans make Peanut nervous — when anyone comes close her body starts to shake. Happy News/Progress: Peanut only shakes sometimes with select new people!

Ideal home: Quiet or rural setting for her comfort, but also a fenced in yard may be helpful for security. A calm home with other furry siblings would also be lovely.

Breed: Husky mix
Colour: White
Age: 5 years old, a mature but youthful gal!
Size: Medium, about 30-40 pounds
Sex: Female, spayed, up to date on vaccines, microchipped

House trained: Yes * She will pee inside overnight if she doesn’t get to go out after 9pm – which is the only time she (somewhat) enjoys her walk. She does need encouragement to go out in the morning. Mornings are when she will poop, so you need to encourage her to walk at least until she poops. She is house trained as long as she gets to poop in the morning (at least before 11am) & gets her night time pee!

Crate trained: Yes, I actually like my own little room, fit for a princess! It is my comfortable place when I am feeling shy and nervous. * My fosters warn that I tend to like my crate too much & overuse it, so they have removed the top part of my plastic crate (I still love my 4 walls though!). Since I am non-destructive, the crate is not necessary but rather a security blanket that my fosters are teaching me that I don’t need.

Loose-leash trained: I am doing great with my leash training! Though some sights and sounds can still make me nervous, I have come leaps & bounds! * I prefer to be walked in the quiet hours of early morning or night, since that is when I am least afraid and can enjoy my walk. During busy hours, I tend to try and pull back home since I am nervous. I am walked with a secure and sturdy harness for this reason, and will need a patient family (likely a leash that attaches to your waist would be helpful).

Commands: I am naturally very well mannered. My foster parents say I have a gentle nature, and that I am very smart & will learn quickly when ready! Fun fact: I come when you whistle! * My foster parents are teaching me differently than an average pooch, for example, they are teaching me to be confident enough to make eye-contact when receiving treats (how I LOVE cheese!).

Dogs: Yes, I am dog-friendly! * In fact, due to my shy nature, having another confident pooch around really helps me feel more comfortable and come out of my shell — I would love a furry sibling!

Cats: Yes! I am very happy to see kitties and my tail constantly wags in their presence. I know to leave their food alone, and their litter; & I live in perfect harmony with them!

Children: No, please. Since I am a bit shy and reserved, young children are not for me.

Are you the patient and loving family this beautiful girl is looking for?

If you are interested in adopting Peanut, please fill out our Adoption Application.