Samson (aka Sammy)
Posted on: June 7, 2018

Sammy is anxiously waiting for his forever family.. is it you?

This 10 year old terrier mix is adorable and loves cuddling, which suits his foster mom fine!  But don’t let his age food you, he is peppy and full of personality — he loves his walks and car rides (loves to look out the window). He is perfect for daily strolls, and his leash manners are flawless. Sammy also has great off-leash recall.

He is a very loving and loyal companion who loves to be with his people, kids included. Samson would also be content to share his home with other furry siblings — he is dog and cat friendly (though he does find cat-tag lots of fun!). One of his favourite past-times is to lounge by the patio door, soaking up the summer sun.

Sadly he isn’t a fan of a crate or being left alone and can become quite vocal – so he would prefer to be your constant companion. The more love & attention the better! If he is left home alone, he may make some noise in protest at first, but does eventually settle when he realizes that isn’t working, and will have a snooze until you return. He is non-destructive in the house, and when you come home he greets you with his happy dance!

 

Overall, he is a very well-mannered pup, extremely sweet, loving & cuddly — just an older gentleman looking for his place to retire!

Ideal home : He would love a family where someone is home more often than not, and he would be more than happy to go everywhere he can with his people!

Breed: Cairn/Wheaten Terrier/Westie
Colour: White, tan and grey
Age: 10 years young
Size: 22lbs
Sex: Male, neutered, up to date on vaccines, microchipped
House trained: Yes — & I know to ask to go outside.
Crate trained: No crate for me please — I am non-destructive when left to roam the house.  Sadly my person moved into a retirement home and I was unable to go with them. Since I am not used to being left alone, I protest vocally hoping you will return promptly! So an apartment or attached housing is not for me.
Loose-leash trained: Yes, I am a real gentlman!
Commands: I know my basic commands, & listen very well! I know “sit” “down” and “paw” — I am also treat motivated! Yummy!
Dogs: Yes – I am friendly and love friendly-friends!
Cats: Yes — Dog-savvy cats only please! If they run I will chase.
Children: Yes, I am great with kids — My foster mommy has grandkids ages 5+ and I adore them & the attention!
MEDICAL: This sweet man has had bladder stones in the past and is now maintaining his urinary health by eating special food purchased at the Vet. He will need to stay on this food for the rest of his life.

   

Would you love me fur-ever?